Talking with friends about their sex lives.

Find support and treatment options from participants and Maze Women’s Health staff.

Home Forums Vaginismus Support Group Vaginismus General Talking with friends about their sex lives.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Forumname
    Participant

I am a university student, and to be honest most of my friends don’t have sex all that often and when they do sometimes it’s not that great. Which means that when they have good sex they feel the NEED to tell me every last detail. I don’t want to be a bad friend but every time sex is brought up it just makes me upset and sometimes triggers a full on mental breakdown just from a friend saying “I had sex last night!” Am I a bad friend if I don’t want them to tell me about their stories anymore? But then I’m worried we will become distant as there will be a part of themselves that they have to actively hide from me. Basically I don’t know if I should say I don’t want to hear about it anymore.

recessivegenequeen
    Participant

Hi Forumname – this is a really interesting and good question! I used to have this problem too, especially when I was in university. It seems like that’s a time when everybody is hooking up a lot, which can make a person with vaginismus feel even more inadequate and left out. You are NOT a bad friend for not wanting to be regularly triggered by something like this, and it’s completely legitimate to feel this way.