‘Fake’ vaginismus / thinking too soon something is wrong

Find support and treatment options from participants and Maze Women’s Health staff.

Home Forums Vaginismus Support Group Daily Questions About Vaginismus ‘Fake’ vaginismus / thinking too soon something is wrong

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    ella2021
    Participant

Hello there.

I’m a midwife (I work in Germany) and I regularly meet up with other colleges (online these days) to chat about different subjects related to our profession. Yesterday we invited a gynaecologist to talk about vaginismus, since that is something we often see in our patients. I’m not an expert in this area so this is the reason I’m contacting you guys.

The gyn said something very interesting I wasn’t even aware of. He claimed he sees an increase in young patients thinking that as soon as they have pain while attempting to have intercourse, or when intercourse is not possible the first time, they have vaginismus. The explanation he gave is that vaginismus is mentioned a lot these days in women’s magazines and on the internet, which makes it easier for some patients to talk about the subject to their gyn, but at the same time that causes a lot of misunderstandings as well.