Feeling stuck & stressed

Find support and treatment options from participants and Maze Women’s Health staff.

Home Forums Vaginismus Support Group Vaginismus Dilating Feeling stuck & stressed

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Sarabelle
    Participant

Hi guys! I’m completely new to this support group. I was looking for a vaginismus support group in NYC but surprisingly had no luck with locating one (if anyone happens to know of one within the city please do let me know).I was recently diagnosed with Vaginismus and Vulvodynia. I also had a vaginectomy 6 months ago. I recently started PT and am feeling really discouraged when using the dilators.I made it to the 3inch one but there’s a raw burning sensation upon insertion, regardless of how many breathing exercise I do. I’m sorry for this rant.I just feel really discouraged.I’m in my early twenties and I feel like I’m unworthy of being loved because of this bizarre condition.If anyone has any advice on how to cope with any of this please reach out.

Thank you –

Stressed

recessivegenequeen
    Participant

Hi Stressed – I’m so sorry for all you’ve been through. I used to live in NYC but never found a formal vaginismus support group, which is a real shame. It’s good that we have the forums online, even if we can’t meet up in real life. I’m impressed you were able to insert the dilators; that’s a good sign, even if it’s uncomfortable at first. If you’re feeling too much burning, be sure you’re using enough lube and don’t be afraid to go down a size for awhile and build up more confidence. I know how hard it is to be patient, but it’s so important to respect the length of time this journey takes because the best thing you can do is be patient with yourself.