Dilation…am I doing this wrong?

Find support and treatment options from participants and Maze Women’s Health staff.

Home Forums Vaginismus Support Group Vaginismus Dilating Dilation…am I doing this wrong?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Woods95
    Participant

Hi brains trust! I have been dilating for a few months now but feel stuck on the first dilator. Is it meant slide all the way in or just part of the way? I can only seem to get my middle finger in to the middle (where the joint is) and I can move around in that space pain free but any further and it just feels like I’m hitting a wall. I suspect I can feel the vaginal opening, however prior to feeling this spot I thought I was already in my vagina 🙁
    Not sure if I should keep trying with the smallest dilator or should I just move up a level. Wondering if what I’m feeling is in fact my vaginal opening and if it is, will it ever fricken open. Feeling a bit lost, any tips or advice is welcome!

recessivegenequeen
    Participant

Hi Woods95! I’m not sure which dilator set you’re using, but normally the dilator should be able to slide in down to the base. I suspect what’s happening is that you’re hitting that strong inner muscle of the vagina that’s near the front – this is the part that clenches and gives you that “brick wall” feeling. The work of dilating is to push past this muscle. Once you are able to pass through it, the rest of the dilator will slide in easily.