Just looking for words of support <3

Find support and treatment options from participants and Maze Women’s Health staff.

Home Forums Vaginismus Support Group Vaginismus General Just looking for words of support <3

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    rebeccaann
    Participant

Hi all,
    My name is Rebecca, I am 22 and I am currently studying biology.
    I have been living with vaginismus since I was 16, and as I’m sure most of you understand, the trauma from any attempt at sex has been great.
    So just a little background, I was raised by a Catholic mother who didn’t believe in pre-marital sex. That being said, she is also realistic and understands that I won’t always agree. HOWEVER when I was sixteen I didn’t realize this at the time, I thought she would be totally unsupportive. So instead of telling her I could never put in a tampon and I can’t manage having sex with my current boyfriend, I just simply told her I was having sex and needed birth control. She got me on the pill quickly. I know it sounds crazy that I wouldn’t tell her, but I already felt ashamed and thought she would see it as a positive thing to be honest (which she has proven to me now is totally untrue…why did I deamonize my mother in my head so much?!)
    So, fast forward to age 19 and I have met this guy who I am totally in love with. For some reason I thought he would magically fix this problem for me…he didn’t. However he was/is supportive and sympathetic and loves me in spite. So a year ago we moved in together and I still wasn’t anywhere near solving this problem.
    In May I finally broke down and told my mom…she was confused (since I had been telling her for like 5 years I was sexually active) but she got me to a doctor (who was hard to find and incredibly expensive) and I had a surgery performed.
    Here’s the hard part…