any advice?

Find support and treatment options from participants and Maze Women’s Health staff.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    edwards1492
    Participant

Hello! I am new to finding this website and really thought i was alone in this. I’m 18 years old and I feel alone because everyone my age talks about sex. I first found out about my problem when i first tried sex with my long term boyfriend. It was impossible but I brushed it off because i thought it was normal. I eventually started going to physical therapy and started dilation but I fee like I will never get cured. It has taken a toll on me as a i feel like i’m less of a woman than other girls and i feel terrible about myself like i’m not normal. I also feel like i’m missing out on the years where i’m supposed to be having sex. I have lots of questions like will it always be like this and how am i supposed to continue dilation in college with roommates? Thank you for reading and giving me hope

mazemelissa

Hello Edwards1492!

Welcome to the forum, I am so glad that you found us.

You are not alone!

I applaud you for seeking treatment at such a young age, so often women with vaginimsus avoid treatment all together, and basically shut down that entire part of their body.

Treating vaginimsus takes time and patience. You are doing everything right, you are in PT and working with dilators, and that is the first step.

Dilation is difficult, but for most women, if you continue to work at it, and are consistent, the dilation gets easier.

I agree that finding time in college is going to be difficult at first, but most of my patients can usually find a window of time when they are alone in their dorm room to dilate. Dilating under your blanket, or maybe even sleeping with dilators through the night might be a possibility. Dilating for shorter time periods, maybe only 10 min daily, rather than long sessions. Any dilation is better than no dilation.