Never had sex

Find support and treatment options from participants and Maze Women’s Health staff.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    plaloz
    Participant

Dear group,
    I am 45 years old, and I have never had sex. That is my truth. It was not until a month ago that I realized that I might have vaginismus, perhaps triggered by painful pap smears. I am not sure. Let me briefly share my story with you in the hopes that you can relate to me.

In my very early 20s, I was told that I had to schedule a visit for my first pap smear. To describe the procedure, my mom, my grandma, and friends used words like “uncomfortable”, “painful”, “super painful”, “extremely painful”, “awkward”, “super uncomfortable”…you name it. I appreciated their honesty, but it left me quite apprehensive to say the least. You can imagine how ‘happy’ I was to schedule that first appointment. But I did. I was a graduate student at Cornell University at the time, and the ob/gyn was very experienced at dealing with newbies like me. She met with me a week before our first appointment and gave me a pamphlet on Kegel exercises, which I practiced as she told me to do. The first pap smear was okay, the second one was not that okay. I remember leaving the second appointment a bit shaky.