Vaginismus at Age 20 – Life in College

Find support and treatment options from participants and Maze Women’s Health staff.

Home Forums Vaginismus Support Group Vaginismus Success Stories Vaginismus at Age 20 – Life in College

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    sgkophie
    Participant

I realised the other day I have not written my success story on here yet. After Dr Pacik contacted me and said there were some college girls on here, I thought I would do a small post about living with vaginismus in college. I am currently a third year student at the University of St Andrews!

I think the first thing to mention is finances – as that was my primary concern. My parents have a flexible spending account (FSA), so we agreed to use the 1000 dollars put iinto it that we had not previously used for health care. They agreed to pay if the isurance paid, so getting the insruance to pay was the ideal situation. We originally put the deposit on my parents credit card – and put the rest on carecred, so everything was paid up front. Carecredit even let us put some other items we purcahsed from Dr Pacik on there, such as the amazing glass dilators (wearing one now as I write this in the library…)!

Fortunately – the insurance paid a good portion of the surgery adn the FSA covered just about the rest, so we were able to get the surgery with very little out of pocket expnses, which was fantastic. We paid for the hotel and flights through airmiles which my parents were saving, so I am blessed they decided to use them on me (although we did a mini vacation after to Boston, etc!)