Lack of knowledge

Find support and treatment options from participants and Maze Women’s Health staff.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    patrick
    Participant

“Why don’t you write some of your thoughts down on the site”. It was my wife who actually encouraged me to post a text here on the bulletin board after a frustrating meeting with some of our friends. Since I’m her husband, I’m putting it here in the Vaginismus For Men section, but I’m not sure… perhaps it belongs in another topic, mods please feel free to move it.

The main reason I’m writing this is because both me and my wife have the idea that there is a lot of confusion on what vaginismus exactly is, when pain during sex is to be excepted, when it’s normal and when it’s not. And when it’s not: when is it vaginismus, and when is it something else. This is not always clear to everyone, including many of our friends. Mind you: I’m not a doctor, I’m writing this based on my own experience, but I hope it might help some of you.

First some background info. I was rather young when I started dating girls, and I had sex for the first time a few weeks before I turned 17. Let me stress that I’m not particularly proud of that period. I always had consensual sex, but I clearly didn’t aim for long lasting relationships, to say the least. I went from one girl to another without any effort. While I was going to college I worked in a bar and I picked up a new girl almost every month. I know my wife hates it when I talk about that time, and I don’t want to brag either, but that’s the way things went when I was young.