Has anyone tried yoga or specifically hot yoga?

Find support and treatment options from participants and Maze Women’s Health staff.

Home Forums Vaginismus Support Group Daily Questions About Vaginismus Has anyone tried yoga or specifically hot yoga?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Heather34
    Participant

Hi all. I just came across an awesome article about the benefits of yoga and, specifically, hot yoga while going through vaginismus treatment. A link to the article can be found here:

http://helloflo.com/how-yoga-comforts-my-vaginismus/

Excerpts include:
    “I have been practicing yoga for a month, four times a week, with a focus on hot yoga classes. As a new student, I have noticed that several positions provide an opening of the hips and that my pelvic area, and muscles, are being opened and stretched in positions that I had never attempted previously. Beyond exercise and stretching, yoga erases my thoughts. Since vaginismus is the root of my anger, jealousy, and insecurities, and as someone who can’t afford a professional therapist at this time in my career, yoga has become my therapeutic practice.”

AND

Balasana (Child’s Pose)
    This resting pose aids and calms the mind. It helps stretch the hips, thighs, and lower back. Your pelvic floor will expand with every breath.
    Malasana
    This full squat pose provides grounding and, like the child’s pose, provides calm. It is a squatting position that tones the entire lower body and the core while lengthening the pelvic floor muscles.
    Supta Baddha Konasana
    This pose stretches the inner thigh, groin, and knees. While in this position, the body open towards the sky, symptoms of depression and stress can be calmed and reduced.
    Ananda Balasana (Happy Baby)
    This position is beneficial for those who sit down for several hours during the day. The healing benefits of this pose include the back and pelvic muscles.”